What is the history of Wentworth Falls

1.31K viewsBlue Mountains

What is the history of Wentworth Falls

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021

Wentworth Falls (867m)

In May 1815 William Cox, while building a road over the Blue Mountains, erected a “weatherboard hut” as a supply depot here. Subsequently, the locality became popularly known as The Weatherboard and that name was adopted by the inn which opened here in the mid-1820s (though its official name appears to have been The Bathurst Traveller until at least the mid-1840s).

A mounted police station was also located here from the early 1830s until 1855. A railway station was opened as Weatherboard in 1867 and, along with the township that gradually grew around it, was given the name of Wentworth Falls in 1879 in honour of William Charles Wentworth, the explorer.

More info here: https://www.askroz.com.au/blog/origin-of-blue-mountains-town-names/

Wentworth Falls - Map

Wentworth Falls – Map

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021
Iconic One Theme | Powered by Wordpress