What is the history of Valley Heights

1.16K viewsBlue Mountains

What is the history of Valley Heights

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021

Valley heights (322m)

Willaim Cox referred in 1815 to “The Valley” as a suitable site for watering and feeding stock. By 1832 it had been designated as a resting place for stock and was known as Fitzgerald’s Valley (possibly after Richard Fitzgerald who Governor Macquarie had appointed Superintendent of the agricultural farm at Emu Plains in 1819). Above the valley on the Western Road an inn was opened in 1831 under the name The Valley Inn (later known as The Woolpack and The Welcome Inn).

With the arrival of the railway the inn closed and was sold to the Hon. Geoffrey Eagar MLA. A railway platform was opened as Eagar’s Platform in 1875. This became The Valley in 1877 and Valley Heights in 1880. A steam locomotive depot operated here from 1913 until the electrification of the railway line in 1957. The actual valley itself is now known as Sun Valley.

More info here: https://www.askroz.com.au/blog/origin-of-blue-mountains-town-names/

Valley Heights - Map

Valley Heights – Map

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021
Iconic One Theme | Powered by Wordpress