What is the history of Mount Riverview

1.46K viewsBlue Mountains

What is the history of Mount Riverview

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021

Mount Riverview

Land in this area did not go up for public sale until 1920. One of the early purchasers was Bernard Francis Cummins who appears to have named his property Mount Riverview. In 1931 he erected a lookout in a tree on his property which he advertised as the Mount Riverview Lookout.

For a small fee tourists could climb the ladder to the lookout platform and obtain an expansive view of the Nepean River and beyond. Near the lookout Cummins also ran a tearoom and an art gallery.

All three, as well as his residence, were destroyed by bushfire in December 1944. In the early 1950s an attempt was made to establish a settlement for ex- servicemen promoted as the Mount Riverview Village. Further independent subdivisions followed. The name Mount

Riverview was not officially gazetted, however, until April 1964.

Moe info here: https://www.askroz.com.au/blog/origin-of-blue-mountains-town-names/

Mount Riverview - Map

Mount Riverview – Map

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021
Iconic One Theme | Powered by Wordpress