What is the history of Medlow Bath

1.13K viewsBlue Mountains

What is the history of Medlow Bath

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021

Medlow Bath (1050m)

The location here of Brown’s Sawmill saw the first railway platform opened here in 1880 as Brown’s Siding, Pulpit Hill. This was changed to Medlow in 1883 to avoid confusion with another Brown’s Siding near Lithgow. The origin of the name Medlow is uncertain, the argument coming down to it being either a corruption of the Aboriginal word for Megalong or a borrowing of the name of a small town in the north of England.

In any event, the name was changed again in 1903 when the addition of Bath was made to distinguish it from another Medlow in NSW and to mark the imminent opening of Mark Foy’s grand Hydropathic Bath.

In the early 1900s Foy purchased three properties on the cliff edge, including the Belgravia Hotel, and incorporated them into the complex known still as the Hydro Majestic.

More info here: https://www.askroz.com.au/blog/origin-of-blue-mountains-town-names/

Medlow Bath - Map

Medlow Bath – Map

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021
Iconic One Theme | Powered by Wordpress