What is the history of Glenbrook

1.53K viewsBlue Mountains

What is the history of Glenbrook

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021

Glenbrook (163m)

The origin of this name goes back to 1818 when Sir John Jamison, while exploring the Nepean and Warragamba Rivers, named a tributary Glen Brook (now Glenbrook Creek). When the railway was built across the Blue Mountains the location became known as Watertank, a stopping place for the steam engines to draw water from the nearby lagoon.

When a crossing loop was established here in 1874 (for trains to pass on the single line) the name was changed to Wascoe’s Siding and later still, with the addition of a passenger platform in 1878, to Brookdale. The name Glenbrook was given in 1879 and the Village of Glenbrook was proclaimed in 1885.

More info here: https://www.askroz.com.au/blog/origin-of-blue-mountains-town-names/

Glenbrook - Map

Glenbrook – Map

Ask Roz AU Changed status to publish June 15, 2021
You are viewing 1 out of 1 answers, click here to view all answers.
Iconic One Theme | Powered by Wordpress